Main Menu


To buy any of these titles e-mail or call him at 202-364-1919

Music News 12/30/2014

In Memoriam

Honoring some in the music world—many legends, some lesser known—who died in 2014.

Pop and R&B:

Phil Everly (the Everly Brothers, the supreme harmony duo of rock and roll)
Bobby Womack, soul singer & songwriter
Jack Bruce, bassist, vocalist, and songwriter (Cream)
Joe Cocker, vocalist
Jimmy Ruffin, Motown vocalist
Bobby Keys, saxophonist (the Rolling Stones), Ian McLagan, keyboardist (the Small Faces),
Paul Revere (Paul Revere & the Raiders)


Pete Seeger, musician & activist
Jesse Winchester, singer & songwriter
Jean Redpath, folksinger
Johnny Winter, blues guitarist


Charlie Haden, bassist, bandleader, teacher
Horace Silver, Blue Note’s hard-bop pianist
Fred Ho, baritone saxophonist & composer
Joe Wilder and Roy Campbell, Jr., trumpeters
Kenny Drew, Jr., pianist
Buddy DeFranco, clarinetist
John Blake, Jr., violinist
Joe Sample, keyboardist (the Crusaders)
Frankie Dunlop and Idris Muhammed, drummers
Jean-Jacques Avenel, bassist
Gerald Wilson, arranger and big band leader
Jimmy Scott
Herb Jeffries
Jackie Cain (Jackie & Roy)
Tim Hauser (the Manhattan Transfer)
Claire Barry (the Barry Sisters)
Elaine Stritch, Broadway and cabaret star


Claudio Abbado and Lorin Maazel, conductors 
Christopher Hogwood, harpsichordist and period-instrument pioneer
Frans Brüggen, recorder specialist & founder of the Orchestra of the 18th Century;
Robert Ashley, Stephen Paulus, Peter Sculthorpe, and Lee Hyla, composers
Gerard Mortier, opera impresario
Claude Frank, pianist, teacher;
Magda Olivero, soprano


Paco de Lucía, flamenco guitarist
Milton Cardona, Cuban percussionist
Natividad “Nati” Cano, mariachi bandleader


Amiri Baraka, critic (Blues People), poet, playwright, performer
Cosimo Matassa, legendary New Orleans producer
Alan Douglas, producer
Jack Gilberg, Harmonia Mundi rep